Thursday, March 17, 2011

Mock Irish Stew with Stout

This recipe is from the Grit Restaurant Cookbook and is perfect for St. Patrick's Day.  As you can see from the comments below I originally made this recipe with Guiness only to discover the Guiness is not vegetarian.  It contains some sort of fish substance.....really I eat meat and I would not read to much more beyond fish in Guiness.  If you make this recipe, please do your recipe when buying a stout.  Be sure to get one that is fishy free! Enjoy!

2 cups chunky beef-style TVP (or veggie crumbles)
3 1/2 cups water
12 small Yukon gold potatoes, peeled and cut into 1-inch cubes
1 small yellow onion, chopped fine
4 carrots, peeled and finely sliced
4 stalks of celery, finely chopped
2 quarts boiling water
1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
5 tablespoons nutritional yeast
3/4 cups whole milk
3 tablespoons vegan Worcestershire sauce
3 tablespoons vegan stout
3 1/2 teaspoons salt
3/4 teaspoon pepper
1/4 teaspoon rubbed sage or pinch of ground sage

  1. Combine the TVP and 3 1/2 cups water in a saucepan and bring to a boil; remove from heat and set aside.
  2. In a large stockpot, vigorously boil the potatoes, onion, carrots, and celery in 2 quarts of water just until the vegetables are tender, about 10 minutes.
  3. In a smaller saucepan melt the butter slowly over low heat. Stir in the flour and yeast and whisk vigorously over just enough heat to get some bubbles going in the mixture. Cook for 4 minutes to form a roux. Slowly add the milk and soy sauce in gradually, stirring constantly until each portion is incorporated. The mixture should thicken with each addition of milk/soy. When fully combined and thickened, remove from heat.
  4. Gently stir the roux into the vegetable mixture and bring to a gentle boil. Add the remaining ingredients. Reduce to a simmer and cook for 5 minutes or until vegetables are extremely tender but retain their body.
  5. Serve Warm and Enjoy!


  1. Just so you know, Guinness is not vegetarian. :(

  2. Peppertree is indeed correct, Guiness is not considered vegetarian. This recipe is from a rather famous vegetarian restaurant and at the time I first shared it with you all, I had no idea that Guiness contained a meat product. This time around however, I did know and I meant to reflect that change in the recipe. Obviously I forgot this step. So, thanks to Peppertree to keeping me honest!

  3. I hate to be the veggie police, but I would want to know as well. I have to look after my fellow veggie folk! ;)


Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.